策略与指标

1 级策略与指标

策略&与指标实践包含计划、分配职务和职责、确定软件安全目标、决定预算,以及确定指标和关卡。  

[SM1.1: 81] 发布流程并作必要完善。

向所有利益相关者通报处理软件安全的流程已经发布,以便所有人都知道相关计划。目标、角色、职责和活动得到明确界定。多数组织都会选择现有方法,例如 Microsoft SDL 或 Synopsys Touchpoints,然后再定制该方法来满足自己的需求。安全 SDLC 流程必须适应其管辖的开发流程(例如,瀑布、敏捷、CI/CD、DevOps 等)的细节,因为它会配合组织和安全布局进行完善。很多情况下,该过程都是由 SSG 控制并且仅在内部发布;不需要在公司外部公开宣传以产生预期的影响。除了发布流程外,一些公司还将其作为工作流编码到应用程序生命周期管理 (ALM) 工具中。

[SM1.2: 66] 设立传播职务并开展内部营销。

SSG 指定人员必须担任传播角色,以便在整个组织构建软件安全支持。这种内部营销职能有助于保持高管和其他利益相关者随时了解软件安全问题的重要性及其解决方案的要素。例如,熟悉安全流程的敏捷指导员可以帮助团队在转变为敏捷方法时采用更好的软件安全实践。传播人员会与包括高管在内的内部团队进行会谈,向知名专家发出邀请,为内部消费撰写白皮书,或者在内部网站上创建一系列文件、书籍和其他资源,并促进其使用,借此增进了解并建立信誉。早在 2002 年,比尔•盖茨的安全备忘录启动微软的新安全战略后不久,迈克尔•霍华德就在微软扮演了这样一个传播人员的角色。

[SM1.3: 73 教育高管。

定期向高管展示软件安全不足的后果及其可能给组织带来的负面业务影响。还要向他们展示别的企业怎样获得成熟的软件安全,包括如何处理未经监督就采用“当今特色”工程方法带来的风险。了解问题及其相关解决方案之后,高管就能支持将 SSI 作为风险管理的必要条件。最危险的方法是借助恶意黑客或公共数据泄漏事故的实例开展安全教育。SSG 最好在所有涉及因素均获许可的受控环境中(例如,通过如实展示遭到利用的情况及其业务影响)展示最坏的情况。某些情况下,向董事会演示有助于为正在开展的 SSI 争取资源。邀请外部大师通常有助于提升高管的关注度。将教育与移动或云服务等特定发展领域,或 CI/CD 和 DevOps 等特定方法联系在一起可能帮助说服领导层接受 SSG 建议,否则高管可能会偏好更快的发布时间或其他优先事项,而忽视这些建议。

[SM1.4: 107] 确定关卡的位置并收集必要工件。

软件安全流程包括 SDLC 中一个或多个点(或更可能是多个 SDLC)的发布关卡(或检查点、防护栏、里程碑等)。建立安全专用发布关卡的前两步是确定与现有开发实践兼容的关卡位置,然后开始收集决策所需意见,决定是继续还是停止。重要的是,这些关卡可能不会执行。例如,SSG 可以在发布之前为每个项目收集安全测试结果,然后提出审慎的意见,建议充分或合格的测试结果应该包含的内容,而不是试图阻止项目继续进行。在执行 CI/CD 的组织中看到的更短的发布周期往往需要创造性的方法来收集正确的证据,并严重依赖于轻量级,超快速的自动化。首先确定关卡,稍后再执行这一想法非常有助于推动软件安全的开发,而不会经历重大困难。将关卡推向社会,然后在大多数项目都知道如何成功时立刻打开关卡,这是一种循序渐进的方法,无需强制要求就能鼓励养成良好的习惯。

2 级策略与指标

[SM2.1: 49] 内部发布软件安全数据。

为了促进作出改善,SSG 在内部发布数据,介绍组织内的软件安全状态。这些信息可以采用面板的形式,为高管和软件开发管理人员提供度量标准。有时,这些发布内容并不会与公司的所有人员分享,而只是与相关高管分享,而他们随后就会在组织内推动做出改变。其他情况下,秉承公开是最好的预防措施这一理念,执行开放式管理并向全体利益相关者进行数据发布有助于让所有人了解工作进展。如果组织的文化提倡团体之间开展内部竞争,这些信息就能增添一个安全维度。与 CI/CD 相关联的时间压缩需要快速准确地进行测量,测量最初可能较少关注历史趋势(例如,每个版本的缺陷)而更多关注速度(例如修复时间)。

[SM2.2: 53] 通过测量执行关卡并追踪异常。

每个项目都执行了软件生命周期安全关卡,所以项目必须满足既定测量标准或取得豁免,才能通过一道关卡。现在,即便是顽固的项目团队也必须遵守规则,而且 SSG 也会跟踪例外情况。有时,关卡与法规、合同协议和其他义务直接相关,并且将会根据法定或监管推动机构要求跟踪异常。而有时,关卡的测量可产生用于管辖流程的关键性能指标。不经适当考虑就允许任何项目自动通过或自动授予豁免,违背了执行关卡的目的。即便是看似无害的软件项目(例如现有后端的新移动客户端,或从内部数据中心移植到云环境的应用程序),也必须顺利通过规定的安全关卡,才能继续。同样,API、框架、库、定制代码、微服务、容器配置等等都是必须通过安全关卡的软件。请记住,在开发过程之前和之后都可以执行关卡,而且关卡的执行通常非常有用。

[SM2.3: 52] 创建并培养卫星。

组建分布在整个组织中的一群人,他们在安全方面的兴趣或技能高于平均水平,被称为卫星。组建这群倡议者,有时也称拥护者,是朝着创建一个社交网络的方向迈出的一步,这个社交网络可以加速软件工程中安全性的采用。一种组建初始团队的方法就是在入门培训课程中发现表现突出的人员;参见 [T3.6 通过培训确定新的卫星人员]。另一种方法是招募志愿者。如果采用偏于自上而下的方法,则会指定最初的卫星成员,以确保全面覆盖所有开发/产品团队,但是卫星成员只有做出实际工作才能保留成员身份。强大的卫星团队是 SSI 成熟的典型标志。在新兴或快速发展的技术领域,卫星成员可以帮助将软件安全技能与可能在 SSG 中不具代表性的域知识结合起来。敏捷指导员和 DevOps 工程师是非常有帮助的卫星人员,在检测和消除流程冲突方面尤其有帮助。

[SM2.6: 51] 要求执行安全签核。

组织拥有在整个初始计划中执行的接受安全风险和记录问责的流程,带有风险接收者针对所有软件发布前状态的签核。例如,签核政策可能要求业务部门负责人签核尚未缓解的关键漏洞或已跳过的 SSDL 步骤。签核政策必须同时适用于外包项目(例如,精品店移动应用程序),以及要部署在外部环境中的项目(例如,云)。非正式或未经告知的风险接受本身并不是安全签核,因为接受风险的行为经过形式化(例如,签名、提交表单等等)并记录下来以备将来查阅时,会更为有效。同样,只是声明某些项目从不需要签核,无法取得预期的风险管理结果。然而在某些情况下,风险接受者可以签核一组特定的软件项目验收标准,然后在自动化中执行这些标准,以确保即使在最快的流程中也能适用这些标准;然而,必须不断进行验证,以确保标准保持准确且自动化切实可行。

3 级策略与指标

[SM3.1: 21] 使用具有组合视图的内部追踪应用程序。

SSG 使用集中式跟踪自动化来跟踪其各个软件(无论采用何种开发方法)在其范围内的进度。自动化会记录计划中、进行中和已完成的安全活动。它包含了架构分析、代码审查和安全测试等活动(即便它们发生在闭合环路中)的结果。综合的库存和风险状况视图是最基本的。SSG 利用自动化针对多个指标生成组合报告,并且在许多情况下,至少要向高管发布这些数据。这样会通过内部竞争产生有趣的效果,具体取决于公司文化。随着计划的逐渐成熟和活动的更加分散化,SSG 会使用集中式报告系统跟踪所有行动部分。

 

[SM3.2: 6] 运行内部营销项目。

为了引起外部注意,SSG 帮助公司向内部团队以外推销 SSI。通过这种方式,软件安全的作用逐渐超出了降低风险的范围,而成为竞争优势或市场亮点。SSG 可能会发布有关其软件安全功能的论文或书籍,或者开立一个公共博客。其中可能提供外部会议或商贸展览的详细信息。有时,可以通过移动设备、云和制作重要软件安全研究案例的新技术安全项目,在公司外部发布和推广完整的 SSDL 方法。无论在任何场所,对外分享细节并征求意见都可以为公司带来新的视角。

[SM3.3: 14] 确定指标并以此促进制定预算。

SSG 及其管理层会选择指标,以量化定义和测量 SSI 的进展。这些测量结果又反过来推动计划的预算和资源分配,因此简单的计数和脱离环境的测量在这里是不够的。其中一个指标可能会是缺陷密度,其降低即表示补救成本逐渐下降。回想在敏捷方法中,早期收集的指标是最好的,并且通常都采用轻量化方式收集。关键是通过明确而明显的方式将技术结果与业务目标联系起来,从而证明获得资金的合理性。因为安全概念对很多商业人士而言已微不足道,所以明确建立联系会有所帮助。

[SM3.4: 0] 集成软件定义的生命周期管理。

组织开始使用基于软件的交付平台替换传统的文档、演示文稿和基于电子表格的生命周期管理。人们(有时借助工具辅助)不再推动从各个生命周期阶段前进到下一阶段。相反,组织依靠自动化推动使用 ALM/ADLM 软件(如 Spinnaker)的管理和交付过程,而人员(通常是可选的)则会异步参与(如,提供维修服务)。自动化常常超出 CI/CD 的范围,涵盖交付的功能性和非功能性方面,包括健康检查、故障切换、回滚到已知的优质软件、缺陷发现和管理、合规验证,以及确保遵循政策和标准的方法。一些组织也在改进生命周期管理方法,通过整合他们的合规和缺陷发现数据,开始从一系列基于时间点确定继续还是停止的决策(例如,在每个关卡进行一次安全测试),转变为持续积累保证数据(例如,嵌入到开发和生产中的传感器输出)的未来状态。

Strategy & Metrics

Strategy & Metrics Level 1

The Strategy & Metrics practice encompasses planning, assigning roles and responsibilities, identifying software security goals, determining budgets, and identifying metrics and gates.  

[SM1.1: 81] Publish process and evolve as necessary.

The process for addressing software security is published and broadcast to all stakeholders so that everyone knows the plan. Goals, roles, responsibilities, and activities are explicitly defined. Most organizations pick an existing methodology, such as the Microsoft SDL or the Synopsys Touchpoints, and then tailor it to meet their needs. The secure SDLC process must be adapted to the specifics of the development process it governs (e.g., waterfall, agile, CI/CD, DevOps, etc.) because it will evolve with both the organization and the security landscape. In many cases, the process is controlled by the SSG and published only internally; it doesn’t need to be publicly promoted outside the firm to have the desired impact. In addition to publishing the process, some firms also encode it into an application lifecycle management (ALM) tool as workflow.

[SM1.2: 66] Create evangelism role and perform internal marketing.

To build support for software security throughout the organization, someone in the SSG must play an evangelism role. This internal marketing function helps keep executives and other stakeholders up to date on the magnitude of the software security problem and the elements of its solution. An agile coach familiar with security, for example, could help teams adopt better software security practices as they transform to an agile methodology. Evangelists can increase understanding and build credibility by giving talks to internal groups (including executives), extending invitations to well-known experts, authoring white papers for internal consumption, or creating a collection of papers, books, and other resources on an internal website and promote its use. An early example of such an evangelist was Michael Howard’s role at Microsoft just after Bill Gates’ 2002 security memo kicked off their new security strategy.

[SM1.3: 73 Educate executives.

Executives are periodically shown the consequences of inadequate software security and the negative business impact it can have on the organization. They’re also shown what other organizations are doing to mature software security, including how they deal with the risks of adopting “flavor of the day” engineering methodologies with no oversight. By understanding both the problems and their proper resolutions, executives can support the SSI as a risk management necessity. In its most dangerous form, security education arrives courtesy of malicious hackers or public data exposure incidents. Preferably, the SSG will demonstrate a worst-case scenario in a controlled environment with the permission of all involved (e.g., by actually showing working exploits and their business impact). In some cases, presentation to the Board can help garner resources for an ongoing SSI. Bringing in an outside guru is often helpful when seeking to bolster executive attention. Tying education to specific development areas, such as mobile or cloud services, or particular methodologies, such as CI/CD and DevOps, can likewise help convince leadership to accept SSG recommendations when they might otherwise be ignored in favor of faster release dates or other priorities.

[SM1.4: 107] Identify gate locations, gather necessary artifacts.

The software security process includes release gates (or checkpoints, guardrails, milestones, etc.) at one or more points in the SDLC or, more likely, multiple SDLCs. The first two steps toward establishing security-specific release gates are to identify gate locations that are compatible with existing development practices and to then begin gathering the input necessary to make a go/no-go decision. Importantly, the gates might not be enforced. For example, the SSG can collect security testing results for each project prior to release then provide their informed opinion on what constitutes sufficient testing or acceptable test results without trying to stop a project from moving forward. Shorter release cycles, as seen in organizations practicing CI/CD, often require creative approaches to collecting the right evidence and rely heavily on lightweight, super-fast automation. The idea of identifying gates first and enforcing them later is extremely helpful in moving development toward software security without major pain. Socializing the gates and then turning them on once most projects already know how to succeed is a gradual approach that can motivate good behavior without requiring it.

Strategy & Metrics Level 2

[SM2.1: 49] Publish data about software security internally.

To facilitate improvement, the SSG publishes data internally about the state of software security within the organization. This information might come in the form of a dashboard with metrics for executives and software development management. Sometimes, these published data won’t be shared with everyone in the firm but only with relevant executives who then drive change in the organization. In other cases, open book management and data published to all stakeholders helps everyone know what’s going on, the philosophy being that sunlight is the best disinfectant. If the organization’s culture promotes internal competition between groups, this information can add a security dimension. The time compression associated with CI/CD calls for measurements that can be taken quickly and accurately, and might initially focus less on historical trends (e.g., bugs per release) and more on speed (e.g., time to fix).

[SM2.2: 53] Enforce gates with measurements and track exceptions.

Software lifecycle security gates are enforced for every project, so to pass a gate, a project must either meet an established measure or obtain a waiver. Even recalcitrant project teams must now play along and the SSG tracks exceptions. In some cases, gates are directly associated with regulations, contractual agreements, and other obligations, with exceptions tracked as required by statutory or regulatory drivers. In other cases, gate measures yield key performance indicators that are used to govern the process. Allowing any projects to automatically pass or automatically granting waivers without due consideration defeats the purpose of enforcing a gate. Even seemingly innocuous software projects, such as a new mobile client for an existing back end or an application ported to a cloud environment from an internal data center, must successfully pass the prescribed security gates in order to progress or remain in production. Similarly, APIs, frameworks, libraries, bespoke code, microservices, container configurations, and so on are all software that must traverse the security gates. Remember, it’s possible, and often very useful, to have enforced gates both before and after the development process itself.

[SM2.3: 52] Create or grow a satellite.

Create a collection of people scattered across the organization who show an above-average level of security interest or skill—a satellite. Forming this group of advocates, sometimes referred to as champions, is a step toward creating a social network that speeds the adoption of security into software engineering. One way to build the initial group is to track the people who stand out during introductory training courses; see [T3.6 Identify new satellite members through training]. Another way is to ask for volunteers. In a more top-down approach, initial satellite membership is assigned to ensure complete coverage of all development/product groups, but ongoing membership is based on actual performance. A strong satellite is a good sign of a mature SSI. In new or fast-moving technology areas, satellite members can help combine software security skills with domain knowledge that might be underrepresented in the SSG. Agile coaches and DevOps engineers make particularly useful satellite members, especially for detecting and removing process friction.

[SM2.6: 51] Require security sign-off.

The organization has an initiative-wide process for accepting security risk and documenting accountability, with a risk acceptor signing off on the state of all software prior to release. The sign-off policy might require the head of a business unit to sign off on critical vulnerabilities that have not been mitigated or on SSDL steps that have been skipped, for example. The sign-off policy must apply both to outsourced projects, such as a boutique mobile application, and to projects that will be deployed in external environments, such as the cloud. Informal or uninformed risk acceptance alone isn’t a security sign-off because the act of accepting risk is more effective when it’s formalized (e.g., with a signature, a form submission, or something similar) and captured for future reference. Similarly, simply stating that certain projects don’t need sign-off at all won’t achieve the desired risk management results. In some cases, however, the risk acceptor can sign-off on a particular set of software project acceptance criteria, which are then implemented in automation to ensure the criteria are applied even in the fastest processes; however, there must be an ongoing verification that the criteria remain accurate and the automation is actually working.

Strategy & Metrics Level 3

[SM3.1: 21] Use an internal tracking application with portfolio view.

The SSG uses centralized tracking automation to chart the progress of every piece of software in its purview, regardless of development methodology. The automation records the security activities scheduled, in progress, and completed, incorporating results from activities such as architecture analysis, code review, and security testing even when they happen in a tight loop. A combined inventory and risk posture view is fundamental. The SSG uses the automation to generate portfolio reports for multiple metrics and, in many cases, publishes these data, at least among executives. Depending on the culture, this can cause interesting effects via internal competition. As an initiative matures and activities become more distributed, the SSG uses the centralized reporting system to keep track of all the moving parts.

 

[SM3.2: 6] Run an external marketing program.

To build external awareness, the SSG helps the firm market the SSI outside the internal teams. In this way, software security can grow beyond being a risk reduction exercise and instead become a competitive advantage or market differentiator. The SSG might publish papers or books about its software security capabilities, or have a public blog. It might provide details in external conferences or trade shows. In some cases, a complete SSDL methodology can be published and promoted outside the firm, with mobile, cloud, and new technology security projects making important software security case studies. Regardless of venue, the process of sharing details externally and inviting critique is used to bring new perspectives into the firm.

[SM3.3: 14] Identify metrics and use them to drive budgets.

The SSG and its management choose the metrics that define and measure SSI progress in quantitative terms. These metrics in turn drive the initiative’s budget and resource allocations, so simple counts and out-of-context measurements won’t suffice here. One such metric could be security defect density, a reduction in which could be used to show a decreasing cost of remediation over time. Recall that, in agile methodologies, metrics are best collected early and often in a lightweight manner. The key is to tie technical results to business objectives in a clear and obvious fashion in order to justify funding. Because the concept of security is already tenuous to many business people, making an explicit tie-in can be helpful.

[SM3.4: 0] Integrate software-defined lifecycle governance.

Organizations begin replacing traditional document, presentation, and spreadsheet-based lifecycle management with software-based delivery platforms. Humans, sometimes aided by tools, no longer drive progression from each lifecycle phase to the next. Instead, organizations rely on automation to drive the management and delivery process with ALM/ADLM software, such as Spinnaker, and humans participate asynchronously (and often optionally), like services. Automation often extends beyond the scope of CI/CD to include functional and nonfunctional aspects of delivery, including health checks, cut-over on failure, rollback to known good software, defect discovery and management, compliance verification, and a way to ensure adherence to policies and standards. Some organizations are also evolving their lifecycle management approach by integrating their compliance and defect discovery data to begin moving from a series of point-in-time go/no-go decisions (e.g., a security test at each gate) to a future state of continuous accumulation of assurance data (e.g., output from sensors embedded in development and production).